Flood 2016: Progress

Today I signed the restoration contract, and they will begin work during the second week of January. Progress, but not as much as I would have liked. The new semester begins the second week of January, and we’re scheduled to have new windows installed that week as well, so it will be chaotic to say the least.

I also need to tackle the mass of stuff in the middle of my office. Other than the bookcases and book that were in them, everything has been pushed into the middle of the room. There’s not much I can do about that until the work is done, but somewhere in that mess is one of my textbooks for next semester. I clearly have to find that soon!

In the meantime, things are almost back to normal: washing machine is fixed, dryers are gone, and the only signs of flooding (aside from the chaos of my office) are a few broken tiles and missing baseboards in the laundry room, guest bathroom, hallway, my office, along one kitchen wall, in one closet, and along one wall in the front room. Oh, and I still can’t park my car in the garage since my office bookcases are in there.

I am so ready for this year to end! Actually what I’d like to do is go to sleep tonight and wake up in May 2019.

This entry was posted in Life, musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

