More Lightroom

I’ve completed two more online Lightroom courses from Craftsy and both have been very good. “Lightroom Essentials: The Development Module” with Juan Pons  was excellent. He’s a very good teacher. The pacing was good, and he showed how to do similar sorts of edits with very different sorts of images which was really helpful. I was able to follow along and use the same editing techniques on several of my own photographs. I will need to continue to work in the Development module to really learn how to use all the features, but I feel like I have a good sense of the possibilities.

The second class I did today was “20 Lightroom Savers” with Jack Davis. It was also a great course. It’s interesting to see how different photographers work in Lightroom. Davis and Pons have different approaches as do many of the authors I’ve read. I take what seems to make the most sense trocky_shadowo me from each approach and what I like about the different styles of different photographers and try to make them my own. I’m no where near having an established workflow, but I am understanding more about why one photographer follows a specific workflow and why another photographer’s workflow is very different.

So I worked on two images of Rocky during these courses. In the first, I tried to bring out the shadow of him on the wall without losing any detail in his face and fur. I need to work in it some more, but I think this is good first draft so to speak. I’d like to bring out the white in his fur a bit more so there is more contrast between his neck or his face is sharper–still learning terminology. But I can’t yet make any edits there without changing the background as well. I know what tools to use, but I haven’t quite got the hang of using them yet.

In the second image of Rocky I worked with today, I wanted to focus on his face and try to make it pop–so his features were distinct. Againrocky_shadow2, it’s not quite where I want it to be, but I think it’s a good first draft. I chose Rocky because his fur is pretty orange with a few white highlights making establishing contrast much more of a challenge.

Until next time. . .

This entry was posted in cats, photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

