Scorpion–and not the band!

I have been a desert dweller since 1998 without a scorpion sting. . . until Saturday night. At least that’s what we assumed caused the excruciating pain in my big toe as I crawled into bed. We couldn’t find anything under the bed, but the pain was awful and my toe began swelling and turned fire red. Mr. Desert asked if I wanted to go to the ER, and I thought about it because the pain was so intense, but I opted not to go because, well, what if it was an ingrown toe nail or something?

Mr. Desert brought me an ice pack, and I kept that on my toe most of the night. I didn’t get much sleep and was hobbled most of Sunday, but by late evening the swelling was way down, and the redness and pain had subsided. My had been numb since the morning, but the numbness was gone as well. I still wasn’t sure what it was, but many of my local Facebook friends were sure I’d been stung by a scorpion. So, I went on Amazon and ordered a black light, then flashed back to some of the awesome black light posters I had as a teen. I had one of a tiger that was mesmerizing. But I digress.

scorpionWhen I awoke this morning, the numbness was gone, Later, however, I saw a little brown clump on the baseboard in the bathroom and at first thought it was a piece of the bathroom rug. The longer I stared at it, the more I was convinced it was something else. So, I touched it with the tip of my slipper, and it moved! I stomped on it about 10 times while screaming obscenities. When I lifted my slipper I found this–the button is for a pair of jeans for comparison. I am hoping this is the SOB that stung me and that there aren’t anymore. 

Of course, I saw a scorpion on the floor or wall wherever I looked throughout the day and spent a good bit of time on the intertubes reading about them. I think this is a Bark scorpion, one of 55 species in the state and the most venomous. I was glad to find it’s rare that their sting causes death, but everything I read described the pain from their sting as excruciating. I can now attest to that. Also, speculation is that cats are too quick to get stung and that their fur protects them from the venom. Maybe that’s why they didn’t alert me to the monster?

From now on I am wearing shoes and taking them off once I am in bed! And, while it may be a coincidence that, due to dog logistic,s a week ago we asked the pest guy not to spray outside, from now on my motto is “Spray, spray away.”

This entry was posted in health, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scorpion–and not the band!

  1. Doc says:

    I’m happy you got revenge. I expect you won’t see any more in your house until the weather warms up in the spring. Then be on the lookout!

Leave a Reply

