The Unimaginable

I wanted to believe America was a country where decency and civility still mattered, a place where someone so crude, spiteful and intemperate could never be elected. I wanted to believe the American people would reject a candidate who mocked a disabled man, bragged about sexually assaulting women, and spewed misogyny, racism and anti-Semitism.

Instead I am confronted by the triumph of nativism, authoritarianism, misogyny, and racism. So many of my fellow Americans have been conned by a man who endorsed xenophobia and white supremacy; so many more embrace these things I abhor.

That hope has been replaced by revulsion and a profound anxiety. I fear for those I love, for women for people of color, for anyone who is LGBT, for Muslim Americans, for the future of a civil society.

libertyAmerica has elected as their President a man whose disdain for women and minorities, civil liberties and scientific fact, to say nothing of simple decency, has been repeatedly demonstrated. Trump is vulgarity at its most rank; he is a knowledge-free man who will soon be a national leader who will not only destroy our economy but will strike fear into the hearts of the vulnerable, the weak, and, above all, the many varieties of Other whom he has so deeply insulted. Trump was not elected on a platform of decency, fairness, moderation, or compromise; he was elected, in the main, on a platform of resentment. I want to believe fascism is not our future, but this is surely the way it can begin.

A number of folks have said we need to listen to and try to understand Trump voters.  I don’t want to try to understand anyone who voted in support of nativism, authoritarianism, misogyny, or racism. I don’t want to know them; I don’t want to be subjected to their views. Racism, misogyny, authoritarianism, and nativism aren’t anything new, and I don’t listen to a racist to understand racism. I find and will continue to find such people deplorable.

And I will never accept a crude, spiteful, intemperate, racist, misogynist, anti-Semitic, sexual predator as POTUS.

This entry was posted in politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

