I’m Desert’s Camera

After a month or more of reading, thinking, and discussion, I bought a DSLR camera. It came down to a Nikon D5500 or a Canon Rebel T61, and I bought the Canon. It basically canoncame down to feel. The Nikon was a bit lighter, but the Canon felt better in my hand and Best Buy had a great deal on a kit.

I’ve been thinking about just such a purchase for a while now. Long ago I had a Canon A1 and loved it. But when I was in my last year of college, I was on a boat and the driver gunned the engine. Overboard I went with my camera, and since I didn’t have the neck strap on it was gone.

I’ve been reading the manual and watching YouTube tutorials–there are some really good ones. Today I set up a wi-fi connection between the camera and my iPhone so I can send pics directly to my phone and, if I want, post them to social media. I can also email them to myself, then download them to my laptop. Of course, I could do the same thing taking the SD card out of the camera and inserting it into my computer, but the wi-fi connect is much easier.

I’ve yet to load the camera software since my laptop doesn’t have a CD-drive, and I’ve been too busy with my summer class and camera play to get to it. For now, I’m going to take a few pics here and there, play with settings, and watch tutorials to learn more about the camera. Maybe I’ll take a class? The possibilities are exciting.

So, here are a few kitty pics–the first pics I took with my new toy. As you can see, Rocky loves to pose for the camera. There are no pics of Monty because he refused to look at the camera, and only one pic of Scooter Pie because he took off after the first shot.

Hopefully I’ll have new and interesting pics to share soon.

rocky_5_16.2JPG rocky_5_16 rocky5_16.3

scooterpie_5_16-1

This entry was posted in cats and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Desert’s Camera

  1. Doc says:

    Your cats are so beautiful. As amply demonstrated by the new camera. Congratulations!

  2. Katherine H says:

    Thanks. Rocky is such a lens hog!

Leave a Reply

