Zee Foot, Zee Foot

feet~60_35I’ve never liked my feet. When I was a kid, I had Flintstone feet–flat slabs with toes at the end. I remember crunching up my feet when I walked around the local public pool so I could make the cool “hang 10” footprints like everyone else. My actual footprints were boxy-flat slabs, and I hated them. I was told I had a flexible arch meaning I had arches until I actually stood on my feet!

Later in life I dealt with plantar fasciitis on several occasions, bought all sorts of foot pads, and even had surgery to replace a metatarsal that had been eaten away by a cyst.

So when the most recent bout of foot pain developed, I knew what it was and how to treat it.  Although the pain was in a different place than it had been in the past, I was 99% sure it was plantar fasciitis. So I rested my foot, did stretches, took ibuprofen, iced it, rolled a ball under my foot and so on.

Despite my best efforts, the pain continued, so yesterday I saw a podiatrist–Dr. Wilde. My diagnosis was correct, and the doc was outstanding. Not only did he do a thorough exam, he provided information no other doc had shared.

According to Dr. Wilde I have Z-foot, a bilateral, congenital foot deformity where the front part of the foot is skewed or bent sideways. It’s also called skew foot. In my case, the bones in my feet are shaped like single quotation marks, and my right foot is more deformed than the left. I knew I had problems with my arches and pronation, but this condition explains not only why I have these problems, but also why my calf muscles and foot tendons are always so tight, and why I’ve always had problems buying shoes.

To fix the deformity would require a number of very complex surgeries during which they’d essentially break almost all the bones in my feet, set them, and put in hardware to straighten everything; then they’d have to deal with the muscles and tendons to make them fit with the new alignment of the foot. I have ZERO interest in this remedy.

However, since my only pain at the moment is from plantar fasciitis, he’s treating that with anti-inflammatory drugs and a splint. He also taped up my feet to simulate the relief I would get from new orthotics to see if that’s a direction we need to go in. I go back in a week.

On the bright side, the doc’s confident my insurance will cover the orthodics since I have a deformity.

This entry was posted in health and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Zee Foot, Zee Foot

  1. Doc says:

    So glad you found a smart doc. Good luck with this.

  2. Barb says:

    This is the first blog I’ve seen on Skew Foot. I was recently diagnosed with this condition. I’m basically walking on my ankle right now. My left foot is much worse than my right. Mine is progressively getting worse every day which scares me to death. I can hardly wear any type of footwear & this has affected my knees, hips & back. My Doctor doesn’t want me doing any surgery as it’s to complex. I tried Hyprocure stent surgery which made my feet worse. If I listen to my Doctor, my future will be either a wheelchair or amputation which is something I’m seriously considering right now. I’ve lost a lot of my mobility & I can’t walk anymore. It’s very depressing.

    • Katherine H says:

      I am so sorry to hear your are suffer so. My condition is not too severe. I now have to wear orthotics, and the outside of my feet hurt if I walk barefoot for even a moment. I hope you find some relief

      • Barb says:

        Thank you Katherine. I went for years with having no major issues also. I’ve worn orthotics for over twenty years which no longer dork for me. I just had a buttress built on my shoes to try & hold my foot up. So far no relief. My severe problems only started about three years ago & it seems to be progressing quite rapidly which scares me to death. I don’t want to be wheelchair bound but I don’t want to spend the next forty years of my life not being able to walk either. Thanks for your concern.

Leave a Reply

