Pouring Music Down the Canyon

This title of this post comes from “Ladies Of The Canyon,” one of so many wonderful songs by Joni Mitchell who was hospitalized on Tuesday in Southern California after she was found unconscious at her home. Later in a post on her website I read that “She regained consciousness on the ambulance ride to an L.A.-area hospital. She is currently in intensive care undergoing tests and is awake and in good spirits.” I hope she recovers and heads home soon.

I’ve been thinking about her throughout the day and listening to song after song because I haven’t found one I don’t like or one that doesn’t remind me of some time in my life when it spoke to me.

I remember sitting in my room when I was in high school with my headphones on and playing one of her records after another. Later in college and then in grad school, I spent hours listening Blue, Ladies of the Canyon, Don Juan’s Reckless Daughter, Clouds, Court and Spark, The Hissing of Summer Lawns, Wild Things Run Fast, Night Ride Home, and so on.

I’ve followed Joni Mitchell from albums, to cassettes, to CDs, and now to .mp3 and mp4 files on my “music only” hard drive. I’ve been to several of her concerts, too, and there really is nothing like a live performance. At 71, Mitchell is the same age as one of my sisters, and like my sister, I feel as if she’s always been a part of my life.

Today I searched “Joni Mitchell” on youtube and was pleased to see so many recordings of her appearances on television as well as many of her concerts. My bookmarks now include links to many of these I hope to have time to watch this summer. One video I did take time to watch was a 2013 CBC Music interview. In it a chain-smoking Mitchell talks about creativity, music, painting, poetry, loathing fame, and so much more. It’s about an hour and a half long, and I’ve only managed to watch about 20 minutes thus far. But that 20 minutes was captivating. In you’re a fan and can spare the time, I encourage you to watch.

I ‘m sure other Mitchell fans are thinking of her as well. “There’ll be new dreams maybe better dreams and plenty/ Before the last revolving year is through” (The Circle Game).

Get well Joni.

This entry was posted in entertainment, Life, music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

