PCP Visit

Saw my PCP this morning. Since the hospital had not yet sent all the paperwork, I didn’t learn much other than that my PCP thinks I’m getting around pretty well a week after surgery. She believes my surgeon had a light touch because even with minimally invasive laparoscopic surgery, there is always lots of bruising and soreness. Since I am moving as well as I am at this point, she commended my surgeon’s work.

I, of course, have nothing to compare this with, and I hope I won’t be able to make any such comparison in the future. What I can say is that I’m sore. Just turning over in bed and getting up off the sofa is excruciating. I’m not, though, someone who let’s pain keep me down. My motto is to breath and move through the pain, and to take pain meds when ever that’s an option. Keeping the pain levels under control helps me keep moving.

cervical_cancer_symptoms_diagnosis_and_treatment_309_xI also learned that I do not have to be concerned about horomones. So all that remains is waiting to see the surgeon on Tuesday to get the pathology results. I would have rather had them today, but waiting a few more days isn’t a big concern. I have no reason to suspect the results won’t be clean, but I also had no reason to suspect I had a tumor in the first place. I can’t explain why, it’s just a feeling I have that everything is OK. I’ve had no signs or symptoms, my routine PAPs are well, routine. It’s my understanding that most women in the US who are diagnosed with cervical and ovarian cancer today have not had regular Pap smears or they have not followed up on abnormal Pap smear results.

In addition, I have little to almost no family history of ovarian or breast cancer. I do, however, have two risk factors: 1) Age: Ovarian cancer most often develops after menopause, though it can occur at any age, and 2) never having been pregnant; women who have never been pregnant have an increased risk of ovarian cancer.

It also appears that Mr. Desert’s selection of Gilbert Hospital was rather fortuitous since it landed me in the hands of Dr. Richard Demir, a gynecologic surgeon who is the Chief of Gynecology at Arizona Regional Medical Center and who is recognized for his pioneering work in minimally invasive surgery and laparoscopic hysterectomy.

I’ve had mostly good luck where surgeons are concerned. When given time, I do lots of research and choose the best doctor for the task, but in cases such as this when I had no idea I’d be having surgery, I’ve ended up in the good hands as well.

And for now, the waiting.

This entry was posted in family, Friends, health, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to PCP Visit

  1. Best of luck with your results, and your recovery!

  2. Pingback: Monster Mash | Thinking it Through

Leave a Reply

