Where’s Jimmy Buffett When I Need Him?

Had to leave campus much earlier than usual today because I needed to be home for a service call–our DirecTv has been out since Sunday.

I was driving down from the fourth floor, and when I turned onto the second I saw something green in the corner of my eye. Without thinking about the possibility of being rear-ended, I stopped. Sitting just beyond a parked car was a beautiful green

Sitting on my shoulder

Sitting on my shoulder

parrot. Fearing he (I’ll just use he until I learn his sex) might get hit, I exited my vehicle and slowly walked toward him. He squawked or whatever parrots do, but he didn’t move away. Not knowing what to do, I called the campus police. They gave me the brush off saying “there are lots of wild parrots on Mill Ave; he’ll get there when he’s ready.” I insisted he was tame and obviously someone’s pet, but they said there was nothing they could do. I then got the number of a wild animal group, but I got their voice mail with a message to leave a message and they’d get back to me in an hour. But there I was, my car parked in the middle of the lane and standing next to a parrot.

I couldn’t leave him, so I slowly moved down and onto the floor and sat with him for about 20 minutes. When I finally reach out my hand and placed my index finger on the ground, he walked onto it and up my arm to my shoulder. We sat there a few more minutes, and then I slowly stood up and walked to my car. He didn’t move. So I opened my car door and eased in. I expected him to freak out when I closed the door, but he didn’t. So with a parrot on my shoulder, I drove out of the parking structure and headed to my vet’s office to see if someone there could locate a chip or whatever kind of ID he might have. It was about a 35 minute drive, and he sat on my shoulder the entire trip. Every-so-often, he’d softly nibble my ear or my cheek.

When we arrived at the vet’s office, I called them and asked someone to come out and help me because I was afraid he might fly off or something, and the office is along a very busy street. Somehow the person I spoke with translated my account and told everyone I had a parrot that had flown into my car. Everyone came out to see the amazing parrot!

One of the vets is an exotic animal expert, which is why I thought to bring him there. Unfortunately he was in surgery, and I had to get home for the DirecTv service call, so I left him there. Dr. Funk (isn’t that just the perfect name for a man who works with birds, snakes, turtles and such?) is going to call once he has a chance to examine the bird. I’m hoping the band on his leg is an ID. In the meantime, I’m trying to get in touch with someone in the dorms near where I found him. If someone lost him, I would like to get him home.

I’d love to keep him, but with 4 cats and 2 dogs there is no way I could be sure he would be safe. If I can’t locate his person, I’m sure someone at my vet’s office will take him. He’s a sweetie!

More to come as I get more info.

This entry was posted in campus life, work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

