Less Ink

I’ve written before about the ways in which e-readers and e-publications are changing how we read and noted I have mixed feelings about this trend toward less real world print (see hereherehere and here for instance).

There is little doubt that the trend is moving toward digital publications. If you’d wondered how far this trend will reach, see the announcement that Newsweek

 will eventually transition to an online publication, owner IAC/InterActiveCorp (IACI) said today, marking the beginning of the end for the magazine’s 79-year run as a print weekly.

The date for this transition has yet to be announced, but for me the date isn’t all that significant: I’ve subscribed to and have been reading Newsweek on my iPad for months. I also subscribe to and read Vanity Fair, MacWorld, The Nation, Mac|Life, The New York Times, and The Atlantic on my iPad.

For me it’s about cost and convenience. Digital subscription rates are cheaper than are print subscriptions, and since I carry my iPad with me almost everywhere, I always have access to the publications I want to read. In fact, if I thought I could keep up with the reading, I would have more digital subscriptions.

How about you or others you know? Are you or they on the digital bandwagon?

This entry was posted in books, entertainment, reading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

