Swamped

I have so much work to catch up and so much that lay ahead of me that I want to scream ENOUGH! UNCLE! HELP?!

I spent most of Monday and all day today grading papers, and I haven’t even made a dent in the number of docs filling my “To Grade” folder.

I’ve worked my way through 30 of the 42 critical reading responses I need to grade, but I’ve yet to begin working on the 42 papers I have to grade for one class and the 20 papers/project that need to be graded for another. And none of that takes into account all the online discussions I need to contribute to and grade.

I have managed to get a good bit done this week, though. I graded 30 papers, set up all my online class materials for the week, attended a multitude of meetings, worked with students, did some research on a new project I’m interested in and prepped for next week.  But there are simply not enough hours in the day to do everything I need to do.

The thing is, for the most part, my students are doing pretty interesting work, and I want to give their work the time it warrants. But I just don’t have that kind of time. If only I could pull a few all nighters like I did in college and grad school. But that’s not going to happen now that my brain begins to shut down around 11:00 pm.

Of course, I could probably grade a few more papers in the half hour I have before brain shut down, but I’ve been at it since 8:00 am, and I am shot.

Think I’ll play a few games of Words with Friends and shut down my computer. Or better yet, maybe I’ll leave it on with 20 or so papers I need to grade open in Word and some grading gremlins will take pity on me?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

