Footloose

My left foot has either been in a cast or walking boot since October 26, 2010. First, they discovered I had 3 stress fractures in my left ankle as well as a large cyst in my third metatarsal. They opted to go with a cast to heal the fractures and hope that taking all pressure off the foot for 8 weeks would allow time for the cyst to be absorbed.

No such luck. I spent several weeks in a walking boot and doing physical therapy, and while there was improvement at first, as soon as we moved to weight bearing exercises the pain was excruciating. So, on February 16, 2011, I had surgery; they removed most of my third metatarsal–it had been destroyed as the cyst continued to grow–and grafted cadaver bone in its place. Then they added some brackets and screws to make sure everything held together as the new and old bone fused.

Yesterday, I FINALLY got the cast off, and it was glorious. I could scratch places that had been itching since mid-February; I could move my foot, scrape off dead skin, and lather it in thick, lavender lotion. I was wheeled into X-ray so they could take a look at their fine work, and I thought, give me a walking boot, an RX for physical therapy, and send me on my way.

my left foot 4/1/11

Unfortunately, I have to have a CT scan before they’ll release me to walk in my walking boot (Nancy Sinatra is playing in my head as I type this). They want to be sure the fusion is progress, and while I hate having to wait, I appreciate that they are cautious and making sure things are progressing as they should be.

So for now I wait for the phone to ring. They ordered the CT “STAT”–just like on ER!!–so that is supposed to mean I will be scheduled soon. I’m hoping for an appointment on Monday. In the meantime, I am enjoying the post-cast freedom and using the time to bring the swelling down. The fact is, this additional time will probably be good for me; it will give me some time to clear up the area left raw by the cast rubbing on it and some time to work through the pain I experience when moving my toes and pointing my foot up.

Perhaps all this will teach me patience and how to be a good patient. I’m sad to be missing CCCC’s again, but it’s probably best; I’m sure my foot is better off staying here than partying in Atlanta.

This entry was posted in health. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Footloose

  1. justdc says:

    Do enjoy the freedom :), great post!

  2. Pingback: Health Held Hostage | Thinking it Through

Leave a Reply

