Looking on the Bright Side

There are so many terrifying, devastating, and disheartening things in the news that I sometimes wish I were living on an island with no newspapers, no tee vee and no Internet service. Of course I actually wouldn’t want to be that isolated, but sometimes I just have to get away from it all and give myself some time to focus my energies elsewhere.

So, while fully recognizing all the horror that surrounds me, I am going to post here about some positive news.

First, cast off is 14 days from today. A week ago I went in to get the stitches out after surgery, got a new cast, and was able to make an appointment to get that cast off on April 1st. This all depends on my foot having healed as planned, but I am doing my best to be a good patient and follow my doc’s orders.

Second, UConn won its first round match-up in the NCAA tournament, trouncing Bucknell  81–15 with UConn out rebounding Bucknell 43-21. Tomorrow the Huskies play Cincinnati, and I’m predicting UConn will win its 8th game in a row after their amazing 5 wins in 5 days run through the Big East tournament.

Third, thanks to input from dozens of local CEO’s about the damage Arizona’s anti-immigration laws are doing to local businesses, the Arizona State Senate, reject 5 proposed anti-immigration bills yesterday, one that would have push for the U.S. Supreme Court to strip citizenship status from children of illegal immigrants, and others that would have “banned illegal immigrants from state universities, made it a crime for illegal immigrants to drive a vehicle in Arizona, required school districts to check the legal status of students, and required hospitals to check the legal status of patients.”

Fourth, although not getting much airplay, the protests against union-busting bills in Wisconsin, Michigan, and other states in the middle of the country continue and the number of protesters are growing. And, today, Judge Maryann Sumi temporarily blocked the Wisconsin anti-union bill pushed through the state legislature last week, while she considers a complaint filed against GOP lawmakers who used procedural loopholes to pass the bill.

Fifth, I’m thinking the rethugs and their union busting, social program gutting, assault on the middle-class are finally enabling the American public to see what we lefties have been saying all along. I can only hope the Dems in Washington get the message and develop the spine to follow the lead of state Dems throughout the middle of the country.

This entry was posted in AZ politics, big east basketball, politics. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Looking on the Bright Side

  1. Doc says:

    Gah! That looks SO painful. Did you paint your toenails because you knew pix would be taken?

  2. desertdem says:

    Actually, I decided to have a pedicure before surgery to give my foot, which would be cut and then encased for 6 weeks, a treat; the polish came with the pedicure. Weeks later, my left toe nails are beautiful, while my right toe nails pale in comparison. As soon as the cast comes off, I’m treating myself to another pedicure and maybe someday a new pair of shoes. It occurred to me the other day that my left foot hasn’t been in a real shoe since Oct 26, 2010!

Leave a Reply

